Values

by xrchz

My values are complex. So when I try to write them down here, I am counting on you, dear reader, to already share so many background assumptions and preferences. They will probably seem trivial as a result.

  • Fun, also known as enjoyable experiences, joy, good times. (Theoretically I don’t care where the experience happens, but I have a strong intuitive pull towards caring about my experiences more, even though I am no one.)

Actually, that’s probably it. All the rest are derivative. Don’t worry, we’ll get to something concrete and realistic soon!

I should list the kinds of values I think are derivative, because I may be wrong about that, and because it gives a clearer picture of what I actually value.

  • Life, sentience, health. (Prerequisites for fun.)
  • Freedom, liberty. (Leads to better institutions.)
